Conducted Python & CDAT Workshop In IIT Delhi

Dear All,

Past one week fully I was in busy by conducting the python and CDAT workshop in IIT Delhi.

My professor Dr.Krishna Achuta Rao [1] decided to conduct cdat [2] workshop to his M.Tech students and Ph.D students.

[1] http://web.iitd.ac.in/~akrishna/

[2] http://www2-pcmdi.llnl.gov/cdat

We planned to split the classes into 4 days by as follows.

1. Python,

2. Numpy,

3. cdms2, cdutil, genutil methods

4. vcs, xmgrace, vcdat, graphics methods

I installed CDAT and configured the network to access .nc data through nfs in 10 systems.

Lesson 1 : Python An Introduction

Date : 19.05.2011

I handled this first lesson. i.e. Python an Introduction. I modified my slides according need.

Students started to learn by hands on , bits and pieces of our slide documentations.

From lesson2 my prof.Dr.Krishna Achtu Rao handled the sessions.

Lesson2 : Numpy Array

Date : 20.05.2011

Lesson 3 : cdutil and genutil

Date : 23.05.2011

Lesson 4 : VCS, XmGrace, VCDAT,

Date : 24.05.2011

I learned all the above cdat lessons (2,3,4) since my MCA final year college project 2010 by reading the .__doc__ and manual of the cdat. πŸ™‚

I love to share my learning stuff. That too digging in some thing by myself and explain/teach to others is really cool thing. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

But what I felt when I taught python to IITD Phd & MTech studets, its too difficult to bring them to python from FORTRAN such a oldest language.

Even though they understand the power of oops concept and simplicity of Python, easily they can not jump into latest python language.

Atlast when our professor finished CDAT classes, all those students realized the power of open source and Climate Data Analysis Tool (CDAT).

Already they are using GRADS software to extract and handle the climate data. That is written in fortran language.

The 3 CDAT lessons slides are mostly taken from the following

http://pyaos.johnny-lin.com/?page_id=50

http://pyaos.johnny-lin.com/?page_id=10

Acknowledgments :

Dean Williams (PCMDI LLNL)

Charles Doutriaux (PCMDI LLNL)

Johnny Lin (North Park University)

We conducted a great and very short workshop in CDAT such a big tool for atmospheric sciences.

Thanks to our professor Dr.Krishna Achuta Rao(IIT Delhi).

Thanks & Regards,

Arulalan.T

About arulalant

Currently working as "Project Scientist – C" in National Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasting (NCMRWF), MoES, Noida, India
This entry was posted in Arulalan, CDAT, Python, Talks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Conducted Python & CDAT Workshop In IIT Delhi

  1. Rajat says:

    When is next Workshop on Python being organised in Delhi/NCR..
    Kindly let me know.. I want to start on Python for some Embedded projects.

    Regards,
    Rajat

    Like

  2. Saurav says:

    Hi Arulalant,

    I want to learn Python.So do you provide training or can you suggest me from where can I learn?

    Like

    • arulalant says:

      In the last week we conducted python and cdat workshop in CAS, IIT Delhi. This wednesday is the last day for that workshop.

      In the last friday I conducted python workshop in IIC, DU, South Campus.

      On this coming saturday, people are going to conduct python handson workshop in Amity University, Noida. You can contact them. May I know where are you from ?

      Like

  3. Naveen Kumar says:

    hey i live in delhi.
    i know python basics ,but i want to do lot of practical .
    can you teach me.
    my ultimate aim of learning python is to learn django to develop my web project.

    Like

  4. Ramachandran says:

    Great man.:)
    Keep Rocking…

    Like

  5. rajee says:

    Super πŸ™‚ Wishes

    Like

Leave a Reply

